homesteading books

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by celticfalcon, Mar 15, 2005.

1. celticfalcon

celticfalcon tom

hi to all. im new to this so ill try to do it right. im in need/looking for books on homesteading.my biggest need is gardening and canning. as far as meat and wood etc im good with. maintaince and repair the same.im starting to start my life over with my new g/f(soon to be wife) and our 6 (combined) kids. i am in the country,surounded by fields, and a good rep with all. but need help with the earlier.any info or web sites is good and perfect help.
    thanx
    tom celticfalcon@msn.com

2. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

tom,
    you're here, and where you want to be for the info you seek. The archive search mode can help you find topics discussed that interest you.
    At the bottom is the Administrator section with library where you can link up with excellent info that was given by helpful people on this site.
    Go to the forums where you want info such as the gardening forum or the cooking and crafts forum for things you want to ask or find out about.
    Books mentioned also. Do a search and you'll get a list and opinion on which are best. One to start with that I read lately is by Carla Emery called Encyclopedia of Country Living. It's very good. From the library I have borrowed past inssues of Countryside and Small Stock Farmer magazine with good info and Mother Earth News. Hang around here and you'll be up to date on lots of good info about homesteading. Some will be less relevant, and some will give comprehensive discussion that I've found very helpful. For the most part people here seem to be sincere and genuine.

3. Helena

Helena Well-Known Member