Homemade SIPS?????

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Carol K, Apr 20, 2006.

1. Carol K

Carol K Well-Known Member

I am able to get my hands on styrofoam (?) blocks that are maybe 18x10x10. I hate to see them go to waste and was wondering If I could make my own SIPS? Do you think if I sandwiched them between 2 sheets of OSB, they would be strong enough to hold a roof? Was thinking of maybe a small barn.

Carol K

2. Obser

Obser "Mobile Homesteaders"

Carol, SIPS should have some lumber framing inside, at least along the edges. That can act as posts and (somewhat) like beams. The OSB and foam will hold some weight too, so it seems logical do make the "sandwich" you propose -- particularly for an outbuilding.

I am not an expert on these matters but have been involved in a SIP construction project.

3. Carol K

Carol K Well-Known Member

I think they just have a header and a footer(?) which I could easily do. Anyone know which glue to use, I have read that some glues just eat away at polystyrene.

Carol K

4. Obser

Carol, a water-based adhesive like Elmer's is compatible with most foam -- though I don’t know specifically which would be best to use in your application.

Don't use solvent-based adhesives or paint or they will destroy the foam, as you say (like gasoline does to a Styrofoam cup). Water-based paints are generally okay to use.

Also, the SIPs we worked with were framed all the way around with 2x4s or 2x6s -- both edges and both ends. That is how they were fastened to one another. There may have been some framing inside the panels, I don't know (or can't remember).

"Raceways" were left for electric wire, and outlet holes were cut. Window and door openings were cut and fully framed.

5. Obser

Another bit of information you might find useful: Styrofoam can be easily and uniformly sliced with a hot wire, which is nothing more than resistance wire connected to a power source (for instance, a battery or power supply).