home brew

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by ratherbefishin, Dec 18, 2004.

home brew

1. good?

2. bad ?

3. indiferent?

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. ratherbefishin

ratherbefishin Well-Known Member

I've made some homebrew that wasn't too bad, and some that was too bad[used that in cooking]Anybody have any comments-and has anybody used those beer kegs where you just left it right in the keg[used a co2 cartridge I believe]

2. Old John

Old John Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi Y'all,

I've been brewing for 40, yup, forty years. I use to make wine.
    About 12 years ago I began brewing Beer, Ales & Lagers.
    I use 5 gal. carboys. And I always do single stage brewing.
    I have NEVER had a bad batch of Beer.
    And, since I learned how easy it is to sweeten and balance Wines,
    I make much better Wines. However, Wines that are a little "off" make
    very passable sangria. Equal amounts of Wine, and pineapple & apple juice.

Presently I'm brewing about 40 gal of Beer a year and about
    30 gal. of Mead. Most of the Mead is straight Mead.
    I do make a Cyser occasionally, but no Melomels.
    My favorite Mead is Brackett, which is Brewed with part Malt, the
    rest Honey.That gives it a whole different character.

We like medium brown Lagers, with an occasonal Bock or Stout.
    Most of the Friends like the Medium Brown. I use about 7# of Malt
    Extract and 1# of Crystal Malt. Makes a nice wholesome drinkable beer.

Most of Friends & Family like Sweet Mead. So, that's how I make it.
    Wild Flower Honey is best. But, Clover Honey is good & easier to find.
    We get together once a month for a dinner and 2 or 3 bottles of
    home-brew. Makes for a nice evening.

Oh, I never tried it in kegs. I bottle-condition all my beers. I use a
    level cup of corn sugar, to condtion a 5 gal. batch.
    It keeps well in bottles. I have 18 cases, that I recycle each time
    I try to keep them mostly full.