Historical Pennsylvania Homesteading Community

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by palongrifle, Oct 25, 2004.

1. palongrifle

palongrifle Active Member

I am concidering the idea of opening up property to historical re-enactors/homesteaders here in western Pennsylvania in the heart of the French and Indian region. This region is rich with history including the Whiskey Rebellion, discovery of oil, the Iroquios Nation, ect.
    My idea is to offer re-enactors a plot of land to work a trade such as Black Smithing, Wood Wright, Farming, Butcher Shop, ect and cooperate as a community (why should everyone have a vehicle,license,insurance, maintainance ect - when we can share?) Goods can be sold to the public for extra income while carrying on a traditional setting.
    I am a certified teacher so homeschooling may also be a possibility for those with children. I would eventually like to be able to offer college credit to history teachers for participation in this live-event learning environment endorsed by any of the local colleges (Clarion Univ., Univ. of Pittsburgh, Edinboro Univ., Slippery Rock Univ.)
    What do you readers think of the idea? Would there be interest in this if advertised to artisans and historians? What drawbacks could I face?
    ddswine@alltel.net

2. seedspreader

seedspreader AFKA ZealYouthGuy

I know the area well. The Allegehany National Forest is a great area. Have you picked the site or do you already own land? I would think that somewhere near Kane would be a great place or Oil City. If it were in Kane or north you could probably get some interaction with the Indians from the reservation up at Salmanca. Sounds awesome to me. I couldn't move that far because I am a youth pastor and can't leave these kids, but I would be willing to help with websites etc.

3. john#4

john#4 Well-Known Member

Palongrifle,