Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
North of the Hi-Line
1,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been researching the Highland breed for three years now. I've read all I could from private sites off the web, but I still have questions. In the event I buy back a cow herd again, I would like some of them to be Highlands. They will obviously be cold hearty enough for my area, but how do they take many consecutive days of high 90's and 100's? Will they shed off the majority of thier coats for the summer? Will they loose all spunk and just veggitate in the shade on warmer days? Are they known for holding any commercial value? Do thier horns cause difficulties in handling, such as alley ways and chutes? What can a guy expect to pay for registered breeding stock? How well do they obey fences? I think thats all my questioning right now. Anxious to hear any answers.

Does anyone have any pics to share as well? Thanks!

·
Registered
542 Posts
Ours tend to spend time in the pond during the hottest part of the day. They really don't shed their hair either.

Highlands seem to know exactly where their horns are. We only have a horse trailer, and while their horns won't fit through the door, they will turn their heads so they can get in.

Never had a problem with them and our fences.

Biggest problem is it takes another year to get to market size. The next biggest problem is because they are only 2/3rds the size of a "normal" beef cow; they don't do well at auction house. But, because they are touted (and proven) to be healthier than "normal" beef, the meat sells well (at a premium) in college towns (or other places where there are many health conscious people).

Pat

·
Unpaid, Volunteer Devil's Advocate
18,472 Posts