Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all Im from Pietermaritzburg in South Africa about 4 months ago I got a lease on a 2ish acre homestead about 10miles out of town. I also got permision for grazing on another 2 acres of the neighbors land provided none of our animals get into his sugarcane fields.

I have now got 2 amber-link chickens and busy incubating 24 eggs which should hatch this friday which are a cross between my amberlinks and the neighbors new Hampshire red rooster.
As of yesterday 1 dexter cow 3yrs old and her daughter a 1yr old heifer. Both are pure bred and registered with the dexter association.

I am also busy planting a 10th of an acre peperdew field which will be my "cash" crop pickled and sold at the local farmers market and to the local pizzaria. this is my first farm and my life's dream.

I am new to the whole livestock thing but am sure ill get plenty of help and encouragement on here.

·
Registered
211 Posts
Sounds exciting. You should post some pics for us. I always like to hear about life in other parts of the world. Welcome.

·
Registered
408 Posts
Welcome
I have Dexter cattle envy, you are lucky, I hope to be able to get some soon.
You will find a lot of good information and good people here.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have picked up a lot of good advice already lurking on here. Here are my cows when I got them home on Sunday they are pretty rare in this part of the country but readily available about 500miles up country so when these came up with good genetics I had to jump on them even though it did strain the bank balance. looking forward to all that milk and cheese in a few months time.

Attachments

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have been planting my peperdew field today 1/3 complete back breaking work hopefully they survive the constant attacks from the chickens and peacocks.

·
Milk Maid
2,873 Posts