Hey Ya'll , Talk me out of homesteading

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Mark Williams, Nov 19, 2005.

1. Mark Williams

Mark Williams New Guy

Hey Folks,

First post on the forum.

My wife and I are in the process of starting from scratch in a remote location. I've been trapped in the city for the last 15 years. We're presently in the soon to be megalopolis area of Hampton va. I hate this place. The traffic is terrible , 2 or more murders every day. It's basically a mess.

Luckily I'll be getting laid-off from my job in May. I've been an electronics technician with the Navy for a few years and a contractor serving the Navy for the last 15. I've had enough.

We've decided to try our best at a new beginning out on the country and try to make ends meet with my part time hobby/craft. My wife Deb is a city girl to the bone, but I dazzled her with the views :) I'm an old hillbilly from North Georgia , and cant wait to get back to lumpy ground.

We're buying 44 acres and doing it the hard way.So I hope to provide some amusement with our tribulations as we progress.

We have no choice but to go alternative energy, so any input will be helpful. I've ben reading everything I can find on the subject, but it's nice to get the real "skinny" from folks that walk the walk.

I've enjoyed reading ya'lls posts and if anyone has any questions on forging steel into tools and how to do it cheap,I'll try to help.

Mark

2. seedspreader

seedspreader AFKA ZealYouthGuy

Ha, we're enablers here. We won't talk you out of anything. If you want to know anything about chickens, just be sure not to ask CRASHY!!! She will always tell you to get more.

Welcome to the site. I look forward to hearing from you.

3. Thumper/inOkla.

Thumper/inOkla. Well-Known Member

We are 3 and 1/2 years in to it starting from bare land.

I can tell you lots about the pit falls of freeranging.