Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a two year old Hereford heifer who has always been very round. I gave up a long time ago on the idea that there was a calf in there, but this last week she has developed a nice looking udder.

So my question is, would a Hereford heifer at this age be developing a nice udder if she was not bred, or is this a good sign that she is? If one of my goats looked like she does, I'd be expecting offspring soon, but I have no experience with calvings.

Her backside looks floppy to me, but not so much as my Dad seems to be telling me it should be. What else should I be looking for?

The latest she could calve, from when the little bull went to the locker, would be some time in August, so I guess I'll know one way or the other in a matter of weeks. I'm just nervous because we have issues with the black-headed vultures, which will actually kill a calf at birthing. We are keeping a close eye, just in case.

thanks for opinions

mary

·
Registered
2,684 Posts
My goats will start to develop poochy little udders about 6 weeks prior to kidding; not sure about cattle.

·
Bovine and Range Nerd
911 Posts
Well, from my limited knowledge from reading and all, if she's getting to be looking like a big barrel on legs, and her udder is starting to fill up, it sounds like she'd be getting close to calving, maybe in a couple weeks. That's about all I can tell you, I'll let other cow-savvy folks fill in on that.

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, Ladies. If she was a goat, I'd be expecting offspring soon.
But I just don't have experience with cattle, and am hoping someone here knows specifically about Herefords, and whether or not this breed would show udder like this if not expecting. :)

This is what I'm talking about:

·
www.BilriteFarms.com
345 Posts