Herbs-ideas?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Morria07, Jul 10, 2006.

1. Morria07

Morria07 Member

Ok...I am new to this homesteading. I have a small plot and I grow potatoes, squash, tomatoes, cubumbers and HERBS! I currently have pepperment, chives, sage (two kinds) hyssop, two small finnel (rabbit at the rest...got away before supper)...and a rose bush. Now...what do I do with them...other than the sage and chives...(I used them home grown before.)?

2. Pony

Pony Well-Known Member Supporter

What do you do? You plant MORE!!! ;)

Seriously, hyssop is nice in soap, also place dried between layers of linens. Smells so fresh!

I just use the fennel seed in my sausage and red gravy.

Rose hips are great for jelly and teas. Very high in Vitamin C! But you'll need to add some flavoring, as they have little flavor of their own.

Pony!

3. turtlehead

turtlehead Well-Known Member

When you make iced tea, throw in a sprig of mint while the tea is brewing. Yum!

4. Earthbound

Earthbound Well-Known Member

I run them through a food processor and then freeze them into ice cube trays, pop out when frozen, put into ziplocs and then use them in the winter when the herbs are dormant, that way you can enjoy them year round.
    corry

5. Earthbound

Earthbound Well-Known Member

Oh, mint with fresh potato's is divine, mint iced tea, mint juleps, in salads,....fennel is great in or with any fish, in salads, as a hot tea... Hyssop, I'm not sure of.
    corry

6. culpeper

culpeper Well-Known Member