Herb Planting Dates??

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by WV Rebel, Jun 23, 2004.

1. WV Rebel

WV Rebel Well-Known Member

TP,

Can you or anyone else tell me about what herbs to plant now in Zone 7? I have bought about $93 worth of seed, from Anise to Thyme.

(The reason for the price difference is that I changed my order from Russian Terragon to FRENCH Tarragon, because my friend that grows it says the Russian is like a weed when planted out).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

www.ivygarth.com

http://img50.photobucket.com/albums/v154/Anonymouseketeer/IVY.jpg

(Changed from IMG to URL to preserve space and straighten up the screen!)

2. tallpines

tallpines Well-Known Member

Rebel-----
    I am a very amateur gardener who learns everyday from this site--------hopefully one of the EXPERIENCED gardeners will help you with your question.

My--oh--My---------
    I envy you all those seeds!

3. Rivka

Rivka Well-Known Member

You could plant the dill now.
    the basil as well
    oregano is a quick germinator and you could start that now.

Rosemary is a pain to start from seed and takes a long time.
    I'd try germinating that late next winter and see if it takes and then it should be established enough to set out next spring. Once you get a few plants established, start from cuttings.

For the mints- I'd start them now, only because mint isn't often true from seed. Taste it before you pot out. Don't forget to keep mint in its own pot otherwise it will take over. Again, you can start from cuttings.

Arugala is probably too late for you, but you could sow in late august for a fall crop- store seeds in refrigerator for better germination.

Never tried thyme from seed or cuttings.

Good luck

4. shepmom

shepmom Well-Known Member

I have a Storey's Country Wisdom Bulletin with planting guideline charts. It's mainly a Spring guideline.

noteworthy:
    Seeds that NEED cool temperatures (55 degrees) to germinate