Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, i was given some goats about 5 months ago. I go outside this morning to put out fresh water and feed and noticed one of my goats has something hanging out of her backend, i knew they looked rather big, but they haven't gotten and "bigger" since i got them 5 months ago, she was bleating and acting weird for the last few days, shivering and stuff i just figured she was cold and had been giving her extra hay for warmth and warm water to drink. my question is if she's having a baby does the cord come out first? its a red bag of meat looking material! i need some help please

·
Premium Member
16,059 Posts
I wonder if it isn't afterbirth. I would definitely start searching high and low for some kids. Good luck!

Can you pen her up in a stall with some fresh straw?

·
Registered
24,108 Posts
It sounds like afterbirth...Make sure she didn't have them somewhere...if you find them get them dry asap and get them to drink from mama to get their colostrum. Let us know what's going on....

·
Registered
478 Posts
Before you get to thinking about kids where is it coming from? If it is coming out of the anus you need a vet asap.

Patty.

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
its definatly coming from the vagina area, i can't find any kids anywhere, and when shes laying down you can deffinatly feel something hard and round in her belly still, i have her in a stall now with some fresh straw for bedding she gets up and down pawing at the hay

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
i've been setting with her for the last 2 hours and been reading up on the kidding process i have read most everything on the fias website since i found her with the stuff hanging out and have watched the videos

·
Premium Member
16,059 Posts
I hope it goes smooth for everyone.

·
Registered
24,108 Posts