Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to sell my home and find a place in the same school district. Selling my place is the easy part; finding a new, cheaper, home is not.

My problems are; it's a highly prized school and social district, I want at least 2.5 acres zoned agricultural, the property needs to be no higher than 180k, and I need a livable home! Average home sale price for this district is about 350k.

My county government has a web system and I'm able to view properties and owners. I've located several potential homes this way.

I'd like to write a letter to owners to see if any are willing to sell.

I want to try to ensure they don't thing I'm an agent trolling. I am a buyer stuck in a bad position following a divorce, I have kids and love the farm life.

Can you help me word a letter?

·
Registered
43 Posts
If I was in that position I'd probably look for something older that perhaps needs some work but that could still be livable. That type of house is probably more likely to be on some land but still be in your budget. I'm thinking sometimes small farms that have been abandoned or parcels where the house is vacant the owners might consider selling if they know you will take good care of the property and improve the land. You can look up the tax parcels on the county GIS systems to get the owner's information.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I need to sell my home and find a place in the same school district. Selling my place is the easy part; finding a new, cheaper, home is not.

My problems are; it's a highly prized school and social district, I want at least 2.5 acres zoned agricultural, the property needs to be no higher than 180k, and I need a livable home! Average home sale price for this district is about 350k.

My county government has a web system and I'm able to view properties and owners. I've located several potential homes this way.