Help with dizzy/weak goat

Discussion in 'Goats' started by gccrook, May 8, 2005.

1. gccrook

gccrook Well-Known Member

Ihave a goat that walks like she is either dizzy, or maybe her legs just are notvery strong. She will try to run, then almost acts like her legs are going to buckle. She eats fine, and is otherwise OK (no scours, no temperature). I posted earlier on a goat with similar symptoms, but got no answer. This one is not as dizzy as the other one, and the other one seems to be better now. Any ideas? My vet is really helpful and all, but she really does not know goats.

2. JR05

JR05 Well-Known Member

Hi I am no expert but have you looked in the pasture and in your hay for anything different? Where do you get your hay? do you grow it yourself or just buy it from a local source? We had a problem several years ago , buying other peoples hay there was all kinds of trash in it. Burrs, sticks, ROCKs you name it, it was in there. We now cut our own, but since the does are not getting any sicker or running a fever then it could be something they are eating. Also the grain you feed them is it store bought or does someone mix it just for you? There could be something being dropped or put into it accidently that might cause your systems. Maybe someone that has knowledge in your area of the p[lant life there could help or you could go to fiaco.com they have a goat plant list.
    Good luck hope I got you thinking about some other areas to look and I am sure we all will want to know what you find.

jr05

3. rhjacobi

rhjacobi Well-Known Member

Hi gccrook,

Without a fever, it sounds most like either a deficiency or toxicity from too much or too little of something. If there isn't bloat, it probably isn't from too much feed.