Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am just beginning the install process for our off grid solar system. Looking for any tips or suggestions. At the moment I have:

925w total PV panels
These will be up to 200ft from the battery bank. All wired In series to produce max. 216v @ 5.76 amps. All will be wired through combiner box.

I will use Direct buried #8 cable to the midnite solar 250 charge controller.

I think I will use 24v battery bank of
400ah-800ah. I'm a little confused as to how many batteries my panels can actually charge and maintain.

Also, I am still trying to figure out what to use for protection in between charge controller and batteries and between batteries and inverter.

I want to hook my honda 3000 into the system to charge batteries but am unsure how to wire it in.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Just howling at the moon
6,586 Posts
Ideally batteries should be charged between C/8 and C/12. C = AH capacity. So for a 24V bank they could support between:

975/24*8= 325AH and 975/24*12 = 487AH Bank.

Try to get batteries in the size that will allow wiring in 1 string only.

Have you ran any calculations on how much power you are going to use?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. So it looks like I could have a 400ah bank no problem.

Do you know what kind of fused disconnects I should use between CC and Battery and between Battery and Inverter?

·
Premium Member
5,905 Posts
Do you know what kind of fused disconnects I should use between CC and Battery and between Battery and Inverter?
Kind, or size ?

You ought to have one on the incoming side of the CC...it can be small, as you noted, there is only >6amps to deal with. A pull out, fused, AC disconnect works fine...put a 10-15amp fuse in it.

Between the CC and battery, same thing, maybe a 20amp fuse on that side.