HELP NOW. She's dying - how do we do a C section by ourselves

Discussion in 'Goats' started by barngirl, Feb 20, 2011.

1. barngirl

barngirl Well-Known Member

The vet can't make it in time. How do we do it by ourselves?

HELP.

2. RoyalValley

RoyalValley Well-Known Member

Prayers for you. I have no experience! Thinking of you!!!

3. thaiblue12

thaiblue12 Enabler!

I wish Emily- Ozark Jewels was on right now. She has done it before, I never have. What I read was she shot the doe in the head, and cut the kids out, all in 5 mins or less.

As far as your homemade colostrum receipe, not a good idea. Either find a goat person who can sell you some. I wonder if you can use cow's colstrum? Not sure if the cow is a good idea or not, but you need antibodies, and all the benefical things that come with it, not high caloric stuff. One chambered newborn stomachs should only get milk.

Sorry about your doe :(

4. jill.costello

jill.costello Well-Known Member

There was a thread about someone doing this... do a search with keyword c-section here on the goat forum and set it to search back about 3 months. they shot the doe and then immidiately cut into her in a certain spot, but if she's in a coma, you could do it and shoot her after....soryy i'm no more help, but be strong and do what you have to do!

5. dosthouhavemilk

dosthouhavemilk Well-Known Member Supporter

6. susieM

susieM Well-Known Member

Kill and cut if you have no other choice....anyway you can.

7. jill.costello

jill.costello Well-Known Member

here is what was in the thread... soryy, no better instructions, but you cut high into their side behind the last edge of the rib cage, I think... "I pulled her outside(she was on carpet inside), shot her and sliced the kids out. If I have to do this I do not wait for the doe to bled out. I shoot, I slice and the kids are out within five seconds. Mulberrys heart was still pumping. "

8. Oat Bucket Farm

Oat Bucket Farm Well-Known Member Supporter