Help! My Pig ate my Ducklings

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Kinfolks, Aug 12, 2005.

1. Kinfolks

Kinfolks Member

Hi,
    I am fairly new to raising pigs and we are currently raising our 2nd one now. It is my husbands pig, as I am a vegetarian. We had one of our mother ducks hatch out 12 ducklings in her 1st ever hatching. We were very excited. About a week later we were down to 10 ducklings and we couldn't find where the other 2 went. They were free range, so we assumed a fox or coyote or something. Then a couple days after that all were gone. Again, we thought of coyotes, or something else. We had another of our favorite ducks hatch out 2. Well a few weeks later one went missing. Yesterday, I went to feed my pig and saw the feathers and foot of the 2nd duckling being chewed on by her. I was disgusted and angry, and ready to kill the pig right then. The ducks are kind of like extend family. The pig was only my husbands soon to be breakfast. I was very attached to those ducklings and thought the biggest danger wouldn't be from my own yard. The poor mother duck is frantic flying around looking for her baby. I don't know about how pigs work or anything like that, but I would appreciate any help. Is this abnormal? Should we still plan to butcher the pig or will it not be safe since it has now obviously eaten meat itself? I can't even stand to look at this animal I'm so mad.

2. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member

Oh dear, I'm sorry but I couldn't resist having a chortle about this. Ducks and pigs have one thing in common - they're both opportunists and in this case the pig has won out. I've had pigs dispose of my ducks but only because they persisted in scavanging out of its dish and thouroughly annoying it. I would say that one mother duck and 12 ducklings scavanging it's food was more than it was prepared to put up with - and I can't say I blame it.