help, major rabbit eye problem...

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by BamaSuzy, Dec 4, 2006.

1. BamaSuzy

BamaSuzy Well-Known Member

Three of my Angora rabbits are having problems, each with one of their eyes...

This occurred at different times and they are away from each other in the bunny barn...no rabbit in hutches on either side of them are having this problem and none of the lops or Angora crosses are having this problem...

The eye runs and stuff mats under the eyes....one of the rabbits had this problem and I didn't notice it until there was a huge mat there...

I used oil to gradually get the mat away but now there is just pink skin there and no hair, which looks awful but which seems to make the bunny much more careful.

I've been raising Angoras for about seven years now and I've never had this problem before and at one time I had nearly 40 of them....now I have about 15 that are Angoras...

On the two that had the problem earlier, I've used Benedryl creme around the eye where the skin was tender and use Tears no Preservative drops in the eyes...and they are doing much better....

Also the first two had this problem about two months ago and the last one just had the problem in the last few days...

What could be causing this? have I not been keeping the hair cut close enough around the eye? is the rabbit barn too dusty?

Any ideas on how to prevent this or what it is???? Any help and advice will be appreciated! We don't have a vet here that specializes in rabbits....when I ask the vet a rabbit question, he goes to the Internet and looks it up!

2. BamaSuzy

Oh---and I do check on my rabbits twice a day (sometimes more often)making sure they have food and water and no other problems....but some how the eye problem slipped up on me....

One of the rabbits who had the first problem also had some eye canker and the problem below the eye almost looked like the ear canker....could it be related to some type mite? if so how do I prevent it? how do I treat it?