Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

Just added this fellow to our family. I have 10 years exp. with animals, including veterinary experience but not very familiar with goats. I was wondering if someone might help me identify him by breed. I'm leaning towards pygmy, but he seems a tad bit large, and not built quite the same. Asides from La Mancha, Nubians and Toggenburgs I'm not good at identifying goats very well.
While I'm at it I'll tell you the story of this boy.

Last Sunday I got a call from my landlord, and old boss, who is also a veterinarian, asking if we were missing a goat as a deputy found one at the end of our road that was attacked by dogs and had brought him to the clinic. Well we used to have sheep, and have on little 'special' ram left who is with us for life, but no goats. So I called back and left a msg. saying no we didn't have any, but would be willing to take a look at him and give him a home if need be.