Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So only had Dexter cow & calf 1 week come Friday, we have went from her being scared & shy to now being very 'up in my face' when I come in, I have 2 goats in with her & her baby been fine until last few days she has become more social but of course wanting fed? How do I nip this, I'm totally new at this & don't want to get hurt or my goats! She was upset this evening because I hadn't fed her yet & started clawing the ground like a bull..I been just walking away from her & saying No but it's getting a lil scary because feeding time she runs to me & goats are there also wanting fed. I really need help before she gets out of hand with any techniques to get her under control before one of us get hurt & I want to be able to love on her like I do my goats eventually!
Thanks in advance

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
My suggestion: Since I know absolutely ZERO about goats, I'd move the goats to a separate area. Feed the cow/calf pair in a separate confined area, just stand nearby (outside the fence) without threatening her space. Talk to her, don't try to touch her or anything until she accepts your presence. It may take some time as she is protecting her calf (which, really, is a good thing). Most animals do things on their time frame, not ours. Give it time.
Thanks, I'm not totally new to goats, but yes new, (April 15 is when I got her & babies) but now cows, yes other than a kid & teen was raised w 1 cow, lots of goats & 3 Shetland ponies along w other farm animals, but I'm in my mid 50's now & have lost all that knowledge!