HELP--goat died-another not chewing cud

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Donna, Jan 2, 2005.

1. Donna

Donna TrailRider

Had our Nubian dairy goat die a few days ago,I'm new to goats but after reading many threads it seemed like Listerosis as she got paralyzed on one side and went down hill very fast. I did not have antibiotics and probios ,etc..,on hand so did go out and get some just in case and now we have the Nubie's pal who is eating a little but not bringing up that cud. Started her on Probios but couldn't find where anyone stated how much and how often? She has seemed depressed and seperated herself from the rest of the goats. We have checked all day and not seen her ever chewing her cud.Any help would be appreciated.
    Donna

2. Al. Countryboy

Al. Countryboy Well-Known Member

Sorry to hear the bad news. Does she have baking soda ? Sometimes too much grain can cause upset stomachs. Yogurt might help her also. Maybe later on in morning more help will answer.

3. GoatTalkr9

GoatTalkr9 Well-Known Member

Have you checked her temp.? I feel for you..we lost one yesterday to septicima listeriosis. I saved one a few weeks ago,but lost this one. We have to bury her today. Do NOT wait on this. Check her temp,what are the simplest of signs that you have noticed? With Isaac and MoneyPenny,our first sign was the hanging back,then going off feed. Do you have a vet who is goat smart or will at least prescribe you meds? Did they eat the same hay/grain/minerals?

4. Stacy Adams

Stacy Adams Well-Known Member

The only question here I can answer is the probiotic one.. first off, you can't really overdose it and that's good news.. but on average, it's 5g 1-3 times a day depending on the meds I use or if I'm using them at all.. just make sure your using the one for Bovines and not horses... ;)
    The vit- B shot won't hurt the kids but I'd also give her some vit- E, just squeese a capsul in her mouth. this helps her body utilize the vit-B.