Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For several reasons, my boys have decided that the farm could use a GOOD microscope. (I'm pretty sure that they have invented reasons to justify a new toy, but I'll play along)

I've done a bit of homework, but I'm not science minded at all and I'll admit that I don't know much at all about microscope technology. But in spite of that... the choices have been narrowed down to 3 possibilities.

http://www.amazon.com/OMAX-40X-2000X-Trinocular-Microscope-Siedentopf/dp/B005EGDTSK

http://www.amazon.com/OMAX-40X-2000X-Trinocular-Replaceable-Microscope/dp/B00FG8BHUI

http://www.amazon.com/OMAX-40X-2000X-Biological-Microscope-Mechanical/dp/B00AEJ9FJ4

Can someone help me figure out what are the pros and cons to the above choices? Or even make a different recommendation?

·
Food Not Lawns :p
587 Posts
I'm a microbiologist/lab tech and I've never heard of those brands, so I can't comment on the quality of them. The microscopes we have at the lab are Swift M10 with a built in digital screen (http://www.fishersci.com/ecomm/servlet/fsproductdetail_10652_16239983__-1_0). I like them a lot, but they are much more expensive than the one's you've shown. We also have some older non-digital Nikons which I like a lot as well.

Have you thought about looking on eBay for used microscopes? Labs are always updating their equipment and the outdated but perfectly good microscopes usually go to university salvage or are sold to science salvage centers.