Have herbs-now what?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by ksbrooke, Aug 15, 2004.

1. ksbrooke

ksbrooke Well-Known Member

Greetings all!
    I am new to gardening, at least 'serious' gardening, but this year I went all out with the herbs. I have quite a few purple basil, lemon basil, and 1 cinnamon basil, rosemary, chives, a giant catnip plant, a giant lemon balm plant, lots of mint (spearmint and peppermint), oregano & taragon and feverfew. Question is-now what do I do with it all? I had envisioned selling these lovely herbs and at one point approached a natural foods store, but when they asked me to send a price list, I wasn't able to provide one! I couldn't even find one, and it wasn't for lack of trying! I called our local county extension office, I called several herbal and organic organizations, spoke with numerous people and came away with nothing but a higher phone bill. I had one lady tell me that no one would share that information with me as they wouldn't be wanting the sompetition. Hmm, I thought there was plenty of room for everyone.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Brooke

2. Hank - Narita

Hank - Narita Well-Known Member

Next year we are going to pot up some herb plants and sell them at the open air market along with our vegies. Haven't set a price either but will start about $2.00 per plant and come down if necessary.

3. katydidagain

katydidagain Adventuress--Definition 2 Supporter

I think I owe a fig post--working on it....