Have a question...

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by tltater, May 5, 2005.

1. tltater

tltater Well-Known Member

I am new to the bunny owning. We got three bunnies about 10 months ago. I was sure they were all females....well of course I had to be wrong about one! These were just pets for my kids. Anyway, we found out when we found a dead litter in the large cage they were all three sharing. Unfortunatley, at that time we did not have any other cages to transfer everyone out of so I am sure he mated with the one that had babies to begin with before we could get them seperated. So, got the one female out she had six live babies 2 weeks ago tomorrow and we found the other female making a nest and fur pulled out in the large cage. Thought I should have had at least another week or two before she should have been ready to kindle so this took me by surprise. Put her in her own cage with a nest and put all the hay and fur she pulled out in the nest box. This was about a week ago and still no kits and she has knocked all the fur and hay out of the nest box. Could she still be pregnant? Do they have false pregnancies? I palpated her stomach today and I am sure I felt one lump but didn't feel anything else. With the other doe, I felt little marbles when I palpated her to see if she could be pregnant. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Tracy
    Southwestern, NY

2. tltater

Just bumping this up in hopes of someone having and answer.

3. Pat Lamar

Pat Lamar Well-Known Member Supporter

In a case like this, it's just really hard to say, especially since you palpated her. Yes, rabbits do have false pregnancies wherein they will often go through the nesting behavior about two weeks before the due date. I would suggest you try palpating her, again, anyway.

Pat Lamar
    President
    Professional Rabbit Meat Association
    http://www.prma.org/
    Chairperson, ARBA Commercial Department Committee

4. tltater