Hand Tools - How to Learn the Techniques

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by amelia, Dec 4, 2004.

1. amelia

amelia Well-Known Member

I have some background in woodworking, but all based upon the most modern, finely-tuned tools. If the electricity went out, I'd be hard-pressed to flatten a board, much less make even a rudimentary joint. I've wondered whether there are resources for learning the traditional techniques for maintaining and using hand tools--schools, videos, whatever. It's a skill that I'd like to learn.

2. tramp

tramp Active Member

http://www.uncpress.unc.edu/woodwright/

The above link is for the PBS show Woodwright's shop. He uses the traditional wood working tools, which i was facinated with. There's several books advertised.

3. pcdreams

pcdreams Well-Known Member

PBS also does (or did last time I saw tv) The new Yankee workshop. You can probally search the PBS website for that one also..

4. clovis

clovis Well-Known Member

I too have an interest in the old hand tools, some which I have mastered, some that I will never learn well enough to be successful with in woodworking.

For instance, I have learned to love the brace (drill). If you have to drill some holes or drive a few tough screws, hand me my brace any day. I also fell in love with the Yankee drill. How did I ever live without that thing? As well, now that I understand old tools, I prefer to use them most times over power tools, especially if using them on a small project. I found out that bulky expensive power tools aren't as great as what they are made out to be. Still wouldn't give up my Milwaukee sawz all, though.

I joined a group called MW TCA, Mid West Tool Collectors Association. Have learned alot about old tools, but probably won't renew my membership. I do feel like you have to understand the tools in order to use them successfully. Attend one of their local meets if you can. Its a great resource for learning and to buy old tools.