Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a new to us pair of half grown kittens. This week, of them started "hacking" like it was trying to cough up a hair ball. I noticed a couple days ago that her purring is louder and rougher/rattlier than it was before, and her eyes seem to be a bit watery, although not running or dripping, and I don't see any matting of the eyes, and no runny nose.

Could she have something caught in her throat? Is there any home remedy I can give her to help her if it is a hair ball or cold? We cannot afford a vet bill right now, and I would like to help her. She is a great mouser.

I am new to the "pet" forum, but I tried googling her symptoms, and got way more info that did not pertain to her than was helpful. So I decided to ask here, since I've gleaned so much knowledge from the collective wisdom on other boards here, I was sure someone here could answer my question more directly. Thanks for any help you can offer.

·
Registered
3,990 Posts
Could easily be an upper respiratory infection. Have the kittens been vaccinated? If it is an upper resp. than it's most likely viral and needs to run it's course (like us with a cold). They will need to go to the vet though if they get lethargic, stop eating, or get yucky snotty noses.

If it's a hairball, you can buy a hairball remedy over the counter at pretty much any store that sells pet supplies (including Wal-Mart, etc). Don't be stingy on dosing! You need to get a good amount down them (like the length of your index finger). A little dab on their paws is not enough. Do this once or twice a day for at least 3-5 days to see a difference. The great thing is that even if it's not a hairball, the remedy won't hurt them so it's definitely worth a try!

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·