Hail and solar PV panels.

Discussion in 'Alternative Energy' started by Manny, Apr 5, 2006.

1. Manny

Manny Well-Known Member

Does anybody have any first hand experience as to the effect of a hail storm on PV panels? Here in Oklahoma we get several hail showers every year with some of the ice balls as big as a hens egg. Is PV only for the more friendly weather areas or are there protective measures you can take? Im brand new to this technology.

2. WisJim

WisJim Well-Known Member Supporter

Back in the late 1980s we had a bad hail storm that punched holes in the asphalt roof on my garage/shop building. It didn't damage my Arco glass-faced PV panels, but did dent the Sovonics thin-film panels that were covered with some kind of thin plastic film. Didn't seem to affect their function, at least not right away. The Sovonics panels are now junk, but I am still using the Arco panels and they are working fine. Some of the current thin-film PVs are very similar to the old Sovonics panels, and might react the same to hail. I have seen newer glass-faced panels that had damaged glass, but it seems to be due to twisting or dropping them during installation rather than hail that was the problem.

I don't worry about hail and the PV panels anymore, but the wind generator is a different story--I always shut it off it looks like a thunderstorm or other possibility of hail, as those blades spinning into hail could damage the blades quickly. No problem if the generator isn't facing into the wind, though.

3. Jim-mi

Jim-mi Well-Known Member

..."only for the more friendly weather areas..."

NO.....please don't look at it that way.

It would be really fun if somebody put together a "photo album" of some of the darndest places where PV is powering something or other.

One of the ways a PV pannel is tested is for it to withstand 3/4 " hail in 50mph wind. (I'm quite shure of those figures)

....BUT if Ma Nature kicks up her heals........watchout