Growing Blueberries / Grapes / Rhubarb in Zone 5

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Farmer's Wife, Jun 21, 2004.

1. Farmer's Wife

Farmer's Wife Well-Known Member

I getting ready to plant Blueberries , Grapes and Rhubarb on our farm in Liberty, IN, which is in Zone 5.

I am new to growing all of these plants. I am looking for any suggestions or tips you may have to ensure healthy plants and a bumper crop in the future.

2. katydidagain

katydidagain Adventuress--Definition 2 Supporter

My only experience is with grapes. Grown them for 20 years and never got much fruit. Why? I provided a very strong arbor from the beginnning but it was too tall for me to harvest--catbird got the few that weren't black and shriveled. Last year DH edited it to about 4' tall. I've always been afraid to prune (lack of knowledge) but last month I finally took the plunge and cut them back severely. Had I trimmed earlier, the bunches would have been more full--they don't look like grocery specimens but blackening is non existant and the fruit is plumping nicely. The vines can't handle every bunch they begin--you can't be greedy. Lesson learned--fingers crossed, jelly this fall!

katy

3. Farmer's Wife

Thanks katydidonce, I will keep the prunung in mind. It makes me a little nervous, I'm afraid I'll cut back too much. How far did you cut them back?

4. anniew

anniew keep it simple and honest Supporter

As a note of encouragement, blueberries and rhubarb are easy
    to grow. Just plant and watch. Plenty of manure for the rhubarb.
    A low pH for the blueberries, which can go pretty much unpruned
    for 3-5 years as they get established. Then prune out the oldest
    canes each year.
    Grapes are also pretty easy, although the pruning may be a little
    more technical, but you cut them back each year, depending on
    how productive they were the previous year. I can't remember
    the specifics, but it is something like cutting back all but say, four