Granite Countertops

Discussion in 'Countryside Families' started by Songbird, Jan 16, 2007.

1. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member

Any thoughts on granite countertops here? Anybody have them and what has been your experience with them? The reason I ask is because we are moving into a smaller ranch style home because we are downsizing. We are recently retired and want to replace some very worn items in this house, including the very badly damaged laminate countertops. We want to put high quality materials into this house, since we only plan to do this once and live out the rest of our lifes here. Granite countertops strike me as a good long term choice, not to mention they are beautiful. I don't care for the black granite, but do like the medium colors combination of brown, beige, with little flecks of dark grey/black in it. Any info on granite countertops from anyone here would be much appreciated. Thanks very much. :)

2. EasyDay

EasyDay Gimme a YAAAAY!

I'm no pro, but did do research on this just last year. We ended up going with Cambria quartz. Granite needs a sealer put on it periodically, otherwise some spills can stain it (e.g., red wine). The quartz never needs sealing. Maybe not a big factor to you, but HUGE factor to me because I have dh!!

The quartz cost a little more than the granite, too, but we splurged because it will be the last time in our lives that we'll replace countertops. Glad we did, I just love them!

http://www.cambriausa.com/design_palette.cfm

For color, we have Windsor. Sounds like you might like Windsor or Victoria.

3. Beltane

Beltane Enjoying Four Seasons

I love them! If we ever re-do the kitchen, I would love to put some granite counter-tops in. :)

4. MelissaW

MelissaW Well-Known Member

I've looked into them, and also would pass because of the staining factor. They are beautiful though! I think when we replace ours, I'll go with the quartz or Corian.

5. turtlehead

turtlehead Well-Known Member