Got My Baby Today (:

Discussion in 'Goats' started by MaryW, Jan 6, 2005.

1. MaryW

MaryW Active Member

Got my new baby today. This morning when I went out, I found that she was just born. Boy, am I glad no problems. It's a little girl. I just am so happy that all is well. I have looked at everything and all looks well. A friend says that I should worn my mother now. I guess Ill go to the CoOp in the morning to find out what is best. I am new at this and i'd like to do things right so all goes well. the little one looks a week old and is standing so good. I could have not asked for anything any better. She had the baby fine no problems at all. Seems to be so proud too. Should I let baby stay on mom or should I milk her to feed her. I got the mom to have a milk goat. I was thinking to leave the littleone a few days then milk her and give the baby the milk. Thing is how much is too much to feed the littleone? Should I give her as much as she will drink? Somebody help like I said I'm new and so excited. Can't wait till I have more babys. You think I should buy another littleone to put on her too?

2. elly_may

elly_may Well-Known Member

Glad that all went ok and that your doe and little one are doing fine.

If it were my kid, I would leave her on the doe (unless of course the doe has tested positive for CAE). Since she only had the one kid, chance of the doe rejecting it for feeding are pretty slim.

If for some reason you would want to bottle feed, do not overfeed her on milk. A lot of first timers learn the hard way (I certainly did). It is best to give frequent small feedings than all she can drink at fewer. What happens is the overload of milk in their stomach upsets it, they have a hard time 'digesting', the milk curdles and leads to acidosis of the fourth stomach.