Gorund Cherry ???'s

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by jackie c, Feb 6, 2005.

1. jackie c

jackie c Well-Known Member

I've never grown them before, and don't know a heck of alot aobut them. How do you save seed from ground cherries, I will be growing Aunt Molly's type. How many fruit do they bear on each plant? Can they ber overwintered inside a house?

2. marvella

marvella Well-Known Member

they grow wild here. don't know anyting about aunt molly's. there are diffrent flavors and colors. what grows here reseeds itself, and tastes kind of like pineapple. you can save the fruit when it dries and replant the next year. just pick off the little paper lanterns. inside is the fruit.

3. Windy in Kansas

Windy in Kansas In Remembrance

I have yet to taste my first ground cherry, however as a farmer I've killed thousands or ? of them. They grew wild where I used to live as did purslane. I never tried it either.

In a good year I remember the ground cherry plant would get to be 18" or so in diameter and probably have at least 20 fruits on it. Probably more like 30-40.

Of course we tried to keep the ground worked, but a few would make it to 9" or so in diameter. They would probably have from 6 to 10 fruits but each one would be larger, more near the size of a standard marble.

4. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

Save seed same as a tomato. Yes, can be overwintered like a tomato. Yield is variable, when I grew them with the tomatoes I had about same yield as or better than the cherry tomatoes in CO. Actually the tomatillo was the only one that really ripened well and came up voluntarily the next year at 6,000 ft in the CO rockies.

5. Paquebot

Paquebot Well-Known Member