Goats on the loose

Discussion in 'Goats' started by threesillygoats, Aug 15, 2005.

1. threesillygoats

threesillygoats New Member

Hi everybody! I'm new to goating and this forum so I first want to say hello to all of you. Anyway, a few months ago I purchased 3 partially boer goats. Now I have 2 five week old kids. Right at first the goats were not very content inside their fence. (I have some kind of electric horse fence and they will come out even with it hot.) They would come out at night and terrorise our garden and landscaping. Then they seemed to become very content. They didn't break out for a couple of weeks, but now they are coming out just like before. And its not like they are running out of food. They have about 4.5 acres of lush green pasture. Any ideas how I can keep them in their pasture without the expence of new fencing? And they know better that to come out to. Every time you walk out they will run back to their pasture. What do you think makes the grass look greener on the other side for them?

2. mary,tx

mary,tx Well-Known Member Supporter

It's been my experience that once the goats find the garden (or fruit trees, etc.), they'll go back there every time they think about it if they can, no matter how much trouble it is, or how green it is on their side. I doubt you will keep them in without putting up some field fencing.
    mary

3. mamasaanan

mamasaanan Well-Known Member

Because goats look at something green and growing and think:

"Hey, there's something I haven't eaten yet!".

Goats are also very intelligent and are skilled escape artists. Doesn't take one very long to figure out how to get through an electric fence, especially the smaller kids, who can slither under one like they're doing the limbo. I have a sweet little wether named 'Houdini' for this very reason.