Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My son did not put the goats in the barn last night and it rained. I'm so worried. It stayed at 53 degrees all night and they have a good winter coat growing so could they still catch a cold or pneumonia.? All three are really healthy and I put them in the barn as soon as I saw them outside. I gave them their hay and put more straw in their stalls. I gave each of them a little handful of grain in which I put some probio powder in it. I know that goats should not be out in the rain and I will deal with my son about it. I'm new at raising goats so any help would be great. Thanks.

michelle

·
In memoriam
79,017 Posts
A little water wont hurt them. Goats have survived outside for many years.

·
Fergusons Family Farm
1,326 Posts
My goats are out all the time, I live in Ontario...right now its pouring rain and I think its still only 6 Degrees Celsius.(and the most shelter they have is the bush in the field they are in now) They will be fine...Actually the worst thing I have seen people do with horses and other animals is to put a cold wet animal in a cool barn, the dampness really doesn't leave them, if your barn is well ventilated its fine but if not...thats when they get sick.

Your Goats will be fine!

·
Premium Member
4,393 Posts
My girls have adequete shelter but a few of them still hang out in the rain. Its the babies that its really crucial to be dry & draft free.
One time I had a 3mo old standing out in the pouring rain several hours crying for her brother who had just been sold.
They will be fine!

·
Registered
22 Posts
So glad to hear these answers.