Goats and profit, where is it?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by GentleBen, Sep 23, 2004.

1. GentleBen

GentleBen Member

:waa: I am beginning to feel like a dummy. I keep reading that there is a profit in goat making of milk, cheese, and yoguart. My question is how do you make a profit in goats? :yeeha: I feel like someone isn't telling all the truth. Please someone tell the truth. Making an investment into something that isn't or will not pay for themselves is stupid.

2. WolfSoul

WolfSoul Well-Known Member

Hi GB: I'm new to this too. My good friends have goats and they say it IS possible, although as a newbie, I too am confused about how. I'm sure these wonderful people out here will be able to help you. Karen

3. MorrisonCorner

MorrisonCorner Mansfield, VT for 200 yrs

Ok.. I'm going to let you in on one of my absolute pet peeves... The Possibility of Profit in Small Stock Raising.

First, let us take a moment to worship the person who has actually, OVER THE LONG HAUL pulled it off: :worship:

Now let us take a moment to consider how they did at least part of it. First of all, they worked like dogs, 16 hours a day, 7 days a week, forsaking all others and giving up a lot. Now, if you really love what you're doing, it might not seem like work. You might not mind throwing every spare dollar you have at the enterprise. "Do what you love and the money will follow," right?

But the reality is that a good deal of their profitability comes from selling stock. To you. Or someone just like you. Or as a friend of ours who got caught up in the emu craze said when my husband asked if he'd ever turned a profit on his birds "I will if I can sell them to you." Un Hun. You've just got to think this doesn't bode well for the long term...