Goat Questions...

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Loriann1971, Sep 20, 2005.

1. Loriann1971

Loriann1971 Well-Known Member Supporter

I have no experience with goats at all, but Dh and I were talking about getting a goat or two. We are really interested in making yogurt with goats milk and I would love to try making cheese as well. I did raise lambs in highschool, but I realize that is not the same as goats, as they were raised for meat and sold at the county fair and there was no milking involved.

What kind of structure would I need for the goats, especially in the winter? When I raised lambs they just stayed outside in a pen with a shade cover, but this was on the central coast of California and they were taken to the fair long before winter. Now I am in western PA and I am not sure about the shelter I would need.

I would love to hear about everyone's goats and how you shelter and keep them!

2. moosemaniac

moosemaniac Well-Known Member

Hey! Where are you in PA?
    Ruth

3. moosemaniac

Oh, nevermind. I checked your profile. You're in the Pittsburgh area. I'm way north of you, just outside of Erie. But I have a great group for you to contact locally for any help. Butler Area Dairy Goat Association.
    http://www.badga.org/
    I'm sure someone can give you some hands on help.
    I've only had goats for 1 1/2 years, but local goat owners have helped me so much, I've been known to give advice to newbies. My suggestion? Go for it. Jump in with both feet and don't look back! Goats are addictive.
    Ruth

4. pookshollow

pookshollow Pook's Hollow