Goat Question

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Dr.Who, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Dr.Who

Dr.Who Well-Known Member

When is the Umbilical Stump supposed to fall off of a baby goat? My Nubian does have become pregnant and this is my first time having pregnant goats. I am trying to learn everything that I need to know about the birthing and aftermath. But I haven't read anywhere about when the cord stump falls off.
    Dr.Who

2. Rachel K.

Rachel K. Well-Known Member

It should fall off within days after being born.

3. Shazza

Shazza Well-Known Member Supporter

Dont forget to spray with "True Blue" Antiseptic spray or dip in Iodine to avoid in infection seeing how they spend so much time on their tummies in the straw. Also dont let it be too long that it drags along the ground when they walk. It'll dry and shrivel within days and then fall/break off.

4. Teacupliz

Teacupliz Well-Known Member

don't exspect it to fall off in a few days. We have had hundreds of baby goats. Some may fall off in a day other weeks, yet some months. Do dip all cords in Iodine as soon as they are born to prevent naval ill.

Liz
    Teacup Farm

5. crazygoatgirl

crazygoatgirl Well-Known Member

I always cut cord of newborns with a sharp pair of scissors and then spray with iodine to prevent navel ill.

6. mpillow

mpillow Well-Known Member Supporter

Ditto for what TeacupLiz said....the weather can affect drying time, as well as barn conditions....I use a spray bottle on my iodine....I use the 7% stuff.

7. Misty

Misty Misty Gonzales

I don't spay all of them and have never had a problem. We do our baby pigs...Usually by the time the goats are born and we know about it, it is too late, they have already been exposed anyway.

8. Laura Workman

Laura Workman (formerly Laura Jensen) Supporter