goat or sheep? Help, please

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by leigha, Feb 6, 2004.

1. leigha

leigha Well-Known Member

I'm going to post this in both goats and sheep forums. My dh and I just got our place. It's five acres, four acres, fenced and cross-fenced with 5" x 5" woven wire, with a 20' x 20' barn in one fence and a 12' x 12' hog shed in the other. The front "yard" is a little over an acre which we will be fencing in 2" x 4" woven wire the April. We want a small amount of livestock to keep the grass down although we will probably bush hog too if it needs it. We want something that is good for our children to begin with, they're all still small at home. We're dedicated to our animals, this is not just a whim. I used to be a vet tech, so I am hoping this will come in handy. We are not in a hurry. This may be an enterprise for spring of 2005 even. I really like goats, I love their personalities, but also am considering sheep becaue they seem to be more in line with keeping the pasture down. I am skeptical of sheep though and have gotten the impression that sheep are not as hardy as goats and more trouble with parasites. But also, I don't want our back pasture to be shredded of all trees and vegetation because of goats. I have researched nigerian dwarf goats, they seem to be in line with what we are looking for also southdown baby doll sheep. I'm not sure what our pasture grass constists of, we will find out once we get on it. We'll be moving there in April. Can you all give me some advice? I know we will make lots of mistakes, but we would like to make some good decisions in the beginning. Thanks.

2. Redeemed98

Redeemed98 Well-Known Member