Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banjo Makin' Farmer Dad
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a bred doe on 1-6-2009. She looked healthy and very preggo. The farmer I got her from was not sure when she was bred but thought she was 3weeks away.

Anyway I got her home and she was doing well. I put her with my myotonic buck, he took to her well and they have been pallin around since.

ok, all is good so far. This morning I go out to feed them and there is two kids dead in the hay. Her afterbirth was dispelled on the other side of the housing. From the reaction of the doe when I removed everything I dont believe the kids were ever alive. Now I'm no expert but I would assume if they were ever alive she would show some sort of attachment when I was pulling them out. litterally she looked at me and kept it moving. She had no concern for me or my presence. she looks as though she had filled with milk but she wont let me near her udders at all. She jumps and runs and is not interested in me checking things out.

Now, the kids are of course gone (Me and my children are bumbed beyond belief) and she is in with the buck doing well. She seems just fine and I've been keepin a good eye on her all day. So far no signs of any complications, sadness , or even fatigue. This is my first doe and birth on farm, can she still be milked. If so how do I calm her down to let me try. is it to late its been all day and I believe she had them some time after midnight last night and 5 in the morn. I've been discumbobulated about this all day. I really was hoping for a better experience.
thank you all in dvance.

·
Premium Member
2,133 Posts