Goat cheese problems

Discussion in 'Goats' started by MiriamD, Oct 19, 2004.

1. MiriamD

MiriamD Member

I have been making goat cheese the easy way for years: I heat a gallon of goat milk to 190 degrees, add 1/2 cup of white vinegar, stir it up and strain it through a cheese cloth. Then, after seasoning, I press it in my cheese press and then chill. This has always been a no fail recipe but lately I have had a couple batches that did not form curds. Instead, the milk separated (whey and solid) but the solid was just a creamy mass, thicker than pudding but with no discernable curds. I pressed it for a half hour but still, it is a squishy, yicky mess and it has a bitter after taste to boot.

Has anyone had a similar experience or some idea what might have gone wrong?

Miriam

2. DayBird

DayBird Big Bird

I have absolutely know idea what I'm talking about with this as I have no experience with cheese making at all, but something has changed. Are you using the same brand vinegar? Is the acidity the same? What about seasonings? Have you changed those? Any differences with the milk apart from trying to make cheese?

3. Julia

Julia Well-Known Member

4. shelbynteg

shelbynteg Well-Known Member

I agree, its mastitis in the doe, or very late lactation. Test your does to find the culprit, and remove her from the rotation while you treat, or dry of does who have been milking a long time...

5. MiriamD

MiriamD Member

Thank you all for your suggestions. That could very well be the problem. I only have two does and they are in late lactation. I have decided to dry them both off and have brought the Billy over to see them. I have plenty of frozen milk to get by on until they freshen.