Goat Care

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Unregistered-1427815803, Jun 24, 2004.

1. Hi! My names Cindy! I'm very interested in getting some goats for milk I was thinking about getting Nubians what's the care involved in owning a milk goat? I know I'll be needing a male right to get milk they must breed?? Do male goats require any special care???? Do they require vaccinations,shots or anything?? Are they a big responsibility??? I don't want to make any mistakes you guys are experts on this. I am a novice and don't know much about keeping goats I was thinking about just buying 1 or 2 females and 1 male this would be on 1 acre not even. A person told me just to go out and buy some goats I asked him about if there's any special care involved he said "nope". If this is true then I'll go and buy some goats but (sigh) I'm a little confused please help me with this. Thank you soooo much Cindy!

2. I would recommend that you not start out with your own buck. If possible, buy two does either milking or already bred. Or buy a couple that will be ready to breed this fall, but ask the seller for recommendations on finding stud service. I keep two bucks, but I do not recommend them as a first goat. They need to be kept separately from the does, which will be hard to accomplish on your acre, I expect.
    You need to have good stock fence up ahead of time, and the goats(bucks and does separately) need shelter from the elements.
    You need to be able to keep and supply clean, dry hay, especially for rainy days. Wet grass will give goats the runs, and if they get caught out in a storm, you may have to treat pneumonia.
    Don't buy from your friend. Buy from someone who does give the goats special care, and not someone who just turns them out.
    They do need regular hoof trimmings, minimal vaccines and worming.
    I would not buy one with horns.
    Bucks are very, very obnoxious, seasonally stinky creatures. They're the ones that give goats a bad name. lol.