Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been raising large Nubians since 1996 and initially sought the services of local vets until I discovered my goats were better off without them.

Then I started watching and listening to my goats, learning more from them about how to treat any "off" symptoms; and I've lost only a few, i.e. milk fever (with quads) & ketoses. When I learned more about feeding grain, I stopped losing goats altogether.

However, there are those occasions when a goat is "off" and I have no idea why. Fecals ok yet she isn't eating and is losing weight. C.M.P.K. usually fixed this situation up.

Now I have a 5 yr old "smaller" doe who gave birth to 2 healthy kids, nursed them well and they are in good shape. I got over a gallon of milk a day from her until I didn't have the time to continue the milking regime; so slowed her down and within 6 weeks stopped milking her altogether. Her udder is in good shape, nice and soft and empty. Yet, every single year this is the doe who needs the C.M.P.K. and extra attention as she will stop grazing with the others (No signs of lice.) and stay off to herself more often than not. This year she stopped eating grain (All goats stopped eating the alfalfa pellets.) and started losing weight. She, also, showed signs of being weak in her back legs. (I gave her some Bo-Se...1cc/40 lbs... but could not tell it helped that much.) I gave her Cydectin and 10 days later followed that with Ivermectin Plus. I also started giving her 5 cc of B1 (thiamine 100mg strength) every 4-6 hrs; and when I ran out of B1, I gave her 5cc of "High Potency B-complex" every 4-6 hrs along with some home made" C.M.P.K. (I've also been giving her large globs of Probios Paste to help her rumen.)