Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for advice on cutting some glass to glaze my greenhouse. I have a source for double glazed windows (less the aluminum frame) that I'd like to cut into the sized panels I need. This gives me twice the amount of glass at half the weight for the building frame. I'll get a new sharp cutter and keep the wheel lubed. The trick will be cutting glass that is double glazed (sandwiched) around an aluminum strip and the silicon? If you cut 3 sides I'm worried it will just snap the 4th side. Any glass cutters or glaziers out there with a suggestion?

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
I have some experience with glass. However, I'm not sure what you mean by sandwiched. Two pieces of glass back to back?

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Double glazed windows. Two pieces of glass, about 1/2" spacing between them. Looks like they have an aluminum shim between the glass to keep the distance equal and then they run a sealing bead (silicon??) around the edge. My guess is they may be gas filled. Normally if I cut glass it rests on a table, score it, tap it and snap it. In this case the piece I'd be cutting is 1/2" above another piece of glass.

·
Registered
4,195 Posts
Very easy-just lay insulated unit on table,take razor knife and cut sealant all the way around and lift off top piece of glass-turn over and cut spacer off other piece...Make sure there is no temper seal on face of glass-tempered can NOT be cut.When cutting glass-put on flat carpeted surface,use mix of atf and kero,use small brush to lube glass surface and cut .Best way for an amatuer to break is by putting end of cutter in center of score and press gently on either side.

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·