Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've found a deal (maybe) from a local guy on Craigslist. I'm getting three rabbits. One doe (3 months) and two bucks (3 moths and 1 year) the three month are brother and sister. I think they are a California and new Zealand cross.

I'm totally new to rabbits so all I'm asking for is the biggest tip(s) you would give a Newby. If you could know one thing starting out they you didn't, what would it be?

Thanks!

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you everyone. And as far spouse is concerned, in a single mom. It's just me and my ten year old daughter and she is ALLLLLL for it!

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Starting thinking now what you will do in the summer. Rabbits die very easily in the heat. Bucks also go sterile in the heat. You will need a way to keep them very cool in the Texas heat.

Our first year we lost a couple to heat and we had wire cages up off the ground, a constant breeze and deep shade. Wasn't enough. The reason I say start thinking now is because when it is 98 degrees and you are losing a rabbit per day, is not the time to try and figure it out. And our temps can spike like that even in "spring" sometimes so you have to be ready.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Awesome advice. I had read a lot about hear and rabbits and that's why I waited till 'fall'. lol Texas fall. I will have a plan in place by the end of the year. Thanks again.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Ok so right now I have them in a chicken tractor. First off, is this a problem mixing the sexes? Second, is it normal that they all try and hump each other?

I move the tractor daily and so far anything they have dug wasn't deep enough to escape.

My main question now is it ok to let the males and female be together? When she gets pregnant, do I need to put her in her own cage close to time to deliver?