Gestation and Math Question

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Tango, Feb 5, 2004.

1. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

I need help- I'm not good with numbers and I am not knowledgable about weight gain in piglets. I want to produce fair pigs for our county's 4H youth this year. Our weigh in for this county is Dec 7 give or take a few days. When will I have to AI to ensure our show pigs are no more than 75 pounds on Dec. 7? I would like them all to be 65-70 ideally but as long as they don't go over weight, we'll be fine. Thanks in advance.

2. bumpus

bumpus Well-Known Member

You might consider talking to some people who are in your county's 4H youth group in your area, and ask when they do their breading, and see how it worked out for them. :)

Try to contact the one who runs the 4H youth group program for more info.

Have fun and I Hope you win ! ! !

3. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

If you know how long it takes your piglets to reach that weight, to it add three months, three weeks and three days. Then court back that many days from the fair. That would be the ideal date to AI assuming the sow was in standing heat.

Ken Scharabok

4. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

HI Ken, That's just it, I don't know how long it will take a piglet to go from birth weight to 70 pounds. I've never bred these sows ( or any domestic sow) my razorbacks take considerably longer than a domestic would. I though it was about three months but I'm not sure.

5. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

Thank you Bumpus, We aren't showing this year, we are selling to the kids. Some of the families around here buy their show pigs from out of state and I have two excellent sows that I plan to AI with champion stud semen. You've given me the idea to call their breeder though. She breeds for 4H and might know how long it will take the piglets to reach 70 pounds.

6. irishstars

irishstars Member