Gardening at Elevation

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by faithfortoday, Feb 4, 2004.

1. faithfortoday

faithfortoday New Member

Hello, I am new to gardening at Elevation and who like advice on what grows well and how it differs from regular gardens. I am in Colorado and zone 4/5. Thanks for any assistance given. Faith

2. gobug

gobug Well-Known Member Supporter

Faith,
    I'm a Colorado gardener. Where are you located? gobug

3. BeckyW

BeckyW Well-Known Member

4. faithfortoday

faithfortoday New Member

Hello "Bug" I am in Fort Collins. We are still looking to rent or buy a small parcel of land but it will be in this area. Thanks Faith

5. Peg

Peg Well-Known Member

Hey Gobug,
    You're in Denver? I'm in Highlands Ranch.
    Do you truly wait til after Memorial Day to plant out? I usually jump the gun because I'm too excited and then end up having to cover them a couple times for some of those late snows. Last year I waited and regreted it. It was just too darn hot by then!

This year I'm going to experiment with cold frames. Do you do those, or have a greenhouse?

Peg

6. SueD

SueD Well-Known Member

Hi!

I grew up in Illinois, moved to Idaho (at 5000 feet, from 700) and am now back in IL.

I took a ton of seed with me and about the only thing that didn't do well for me in Idaho was peas... And, I am sure that its more because I planted late and didn't innoculate than because of the altitude. If you already have seed, go ahead and try it out.

Some of the things I raised were:

Brandywine, Golden Queen and Roma tomatoes
    Straight 8, Longfellow and National Pickling cucumbers
    Black Beauty zucchini
    Spaghetti squash
    Blue Lake and Kentucky Wonder green beans
    Sprouting broccoli (DiCicco???)
    Eggplant (forget this variety name, too....)
    Bell peppers, cayennes, jalapenos and chilis of various varieties
    all sorts of herbs.