Garden over septic drainfield??

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by gohammergo, Jul 1, 2006.

1. gohammergo

gohammergo Active Member

Is it a problem to have a garden in the soil above a septic drainfield? We didn't realize it at the time, but we put our new garden in right where the drainfield is. The garden is doing great, but I'm wodering if having the soil exposed will cause problems to the field? I am not worried about the garden itself, just the drainfield. It seems to me that I heard years ago that it was not advisable. Does anyone have personal experience with this? Thanks in advance for any help. Best of days, John

2. IowaLez

IowaLez Glowing in The Sun Supporter

Since 12/14 in Osceola, IA. Before that 6 yrs in f
    I'm not an expert, just a home gardener. Our veggie garden is over our leachfield in our backyard. Has been so for 10 years. We've used drip irrigation and overhead sprinklers. Our field leaches just fine, even when we water the garden heavily. From what I've heard, you don't want to plant trees or plants with invasive roots over the field. They can choke it and cause it to fail. But I think a lot of it has to do with your soil type and the size of your leachfield. I don't think simple vegetables are a problem.

3. Fla Gal

Fla Gal Bunny Poo Monger Supporter

It's my understanding that a drainfield is where a septic tank spills it's waste to and is absorbed by the soil and a leachfield (that I know as a leachbed) is where gray water is sent to and it's absorbed by the soil.

Are the terms drainfield and leachfield being used in the same context, as in, the field where septic waste goes?

4. pickapeppa

pickapeppa Well-Known Member