Fun stuff

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by pcdreams, Jun 4, 2004.

1. pcdreams

pcdreams Well-Known Member

We made cheese about two months ago and started making soap this evening. Nothing much to brag about but I felt like sharing.

I've enjoyed doing both and plan to continue..

2. margo

margo Well-Known Member

Never made cheese, but have made a couple very small batches of soap, and really enjoy that. Reminds me that I have some rendered tallow in the freezer to use up. I'm still a rookie, though. You know, I need to find a stainless cook pan with a pour lip for soapmaking, most saucepans I've seen don't have it. What do you use? Do you make large quantities?

3. pcdreams

this is our first batch. We bought a set of stainless steel pots (5 in the set) use 1 for soap and one for cheese others are unused currently.

They don't have a pour spout, however, that would be quite handy.

we're trying castille soap. We'll see how it goes. Lot of oil so it may or may not work (may have to reheat it).

I was suprised with the lye (never messed with it before). Anything that gets that hot by just adding cold water has got to be very caustic. I respect it :)

4. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

I went to the Dollar general store and picked up a one gallon plastic bucket with a pour spout. It cost...$1! :haha: