Fruit Tree Question

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Topaz Farm, Mar 28, 2005.

1. Topaz Farm

Topaz Farm Well-Known Member

We are planning on getting an assortment of fruit trees, apple, peach and pear for sure. Can they be planted all in the same area?

Any opinions on what kind to get would be appreciated too.

Also, does anyone know anything about fig trees. Mostly do they take a lot of water?

2. cabe

cabe Well-Known Member

I am no expert, and Im sure one will chime in but here goes...Unless you have some wild crab apples around I think you need pollenators for each tree. I think pears and apples will cross pollenate, but with todays new hybrids who knows what was the rootstock.Be careful about any cedar trees near the site, they will give cedar apple rust to the trees, but a spray is available.Its all I know, but figs are a mystery to me.I like them in Newtons. Marty.

3. Topaz Farm

4. NativeRose

NativeRose Texas Country Grandma

What Cabe said is right about cedar apple rust. Last week I discovered cedar apple rust galls all over my cedars and my crabapples aren't doing so well. Texas A&M Horticulture and gardening site has some good info. I am going to have to get rid of some of the cedars in order to have apple or crabapples.

5. Ragamuffin2004

Ragamuffin2004 Well-Known Member