fruit seeds

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by RebeccaB, Jan 7, 2007.

1. RebeccaB

RebeccaB Well-Known Member

I am new to growing fruit, but I love to eat it! I was wondering if many of you start fruiting plants/trees from seed? Does this work well? Would anyone have some for sale or to give away if you do? I am trying to save money by not buying plants. I do realize it could take longer to get fruit if this is possible. Thanks!

Rebecca

2. dcross

dcross Well-Known Member Supporter

You could hit freecycle for brambles, strawberries and (maybe) small fruit trees.

3. RoseGarden

RoseGarden Well-Known Member

If you mean woody, shrubby, vine or tree fruit, I don't know what you could start from seed... maybe native persimmon if you like those (I don't, yuck).

You could buy seed for fruit like watermelon, cantaloupe, huckleberries (another yuck for me although some people like them) to have fruit by next summer.

Maybe you could go find a patch of blackberries somewhere and dig a few plants over the winter and plant those? If you know someone who has a fig tree, hardwood cuttings of those root very easily. Blueberries *can* be rooted although it's very difficult. Do you live where rhubarb will grow? Maybe someone has a clump to share.

I would not recommend planting apples, citrus, peaches, etc from seed unless you have a lot of time and space to devote to them, because they most likely will not produce true to type or produce at all. Of all these, citrus is probably the most likely to give you edible fruit. Again, if you have space/time, you could buy fresh--and I mean fresh, not packed in a box--dates with the seed in them, and plant those. They germinate very easily and grow at a decent rate, but they are male/female trees and so you need one of each, and no way to tell which is which until they are several years old.

Maybe ask people where you work, family or friends, take out a cheap ad, etc. to find some starts.

4. Shepherd