flecks of blood in milk/milking technique

Discussion in 'Goats' started by citygoatwoman, May 3, 2005.

1. citygoatwoman

citygoatwoman Member

i realize this question has been asked before, i am still a bit confused though. i have been hand milking my pygmy doe for a month now, after she lost both of her kids at birth (very sad). this is my first time ever milking a goat, and it has been a learn-as-i-go experience. the milk is pure white, though this morning when i filtered it i noticed 3 tiny flecks of red left in the filter. when i scratched the flecks, a little trail of red indicated to me that it was indeed blood. she has no signs of mastitis, no lumps, no hot spots. i wasn't expecting this now, after a month of milking. i wonder if my milking technique is all wrong. i've read that you're not supposed to pull on the teat or slide down the teat, only squeeze with thumb, forefinger and middle finger. well that, for me, has been downright impossible. i have to slide down the teat a bit, other wise it would take me two hours to milk her! i was, up until about a week ago, using milk to lubricate my fingers a bit to keep from tugging on her teat uncomfortably- then i finally stumbled upon some info that said that was a big NO NO, so i'm using a pure lanolin salve (actually designed for nursing humans) to provide a bit of lubrication.
    any advice much appreciated, i'm getting pretty frustrated here...
    erin in oregon

2. eggladyj

eggladyj Well-Known Member

I wish I could give you some advice on the flecks of blood but I haven't had much experience with that so I'll leave that to others in the know.