Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
488 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been calling them for years, but this is my first year trapping them. I was very happy and excited when I got this male on day 2 today!

·
Super Moderator
9,428 Posts
what you using for a set flat , hole , sent post . bait,lure,urine ?

I have been doing Ok with ***** and thinking it's time to set for k9's

·
Registered
488 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm doing the hole sets, next to fence posts and really small trees out away from my timbers...fox urine on the post or tree backing...sides barricaded a little...various things for bait. I caught this one using a little piece of Pekin duck meat in the hole. I reset it and have a piece of hog lard in the that hole now. I haven't bought or made any lures yet.

I decided to start trapping a week and a half ago....I know no one who traps...just have been watching youtube videos...:D. ...and have been on one other trapping message board. ...so this may be the only coyote I ever trap...lol. My name and address plates luckily came super quick after realizing I had to have them. I can see where I'm probably addicted to it now. The part of making it all look natural and other things messed like an animal did it and thinking of other things to do that may help is just a great thing to me!...lots of fun! When I seen I had him I couldn't believe it!

This will also be my first year for **** trapping.

·
Super Moderator
9,428 Posts
well if you have DP's "dog proofs" I have had god luck with dog food , fill a cleaned out dry milk jug about 2/3 full of dry dog food , then add about 1-2 table spoons liquid smoke , I than add a few squirts of anchovy oil , but opening a can of makerel or sardines and adding it to the mix should get it adequately fishy without being soggy